Pop-Up: The Covey Jencks Audiobook

Shelton L. Williams
Narrated by: Stephen E. Lookadoo Jr.


Mystery / Amateur Sleuths / West Texas

Listening Length: 17hrs, 44 minutes

Publication Date: July 27, 2022



Shelton Williams’s book The Covey Jencks Mysteries: Love and Murder Deep in the Heart of Texas is more than a collection of mysterious tales of murder and investigation. By bringing to life these characters, the author has highlighted the global issues of racism, drug abuse, political extremism, and women trafficking.
In the midst of it all is our protagonist, hell-bent on finding out what secrets he may find out if he stepped into the dark shadow of Odessa.
This omnibus edition of the Covey Jencks Mysteries includes newly edited versions of Covey Jencks, Covey and JayJay Get Educated, and The Chinese Murder of Edward Watts. It also includes a new preface from the author and foreword by Charles E. Morrison.
| Kindle |
Shelton L. Williams (Shelly) is founder and president of the Osgood Center for International Studies in Washington, DC. He holds a PhD from Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies and he taught for nearly 40 years at Austin College in Sherman, Texas. He has served in the US Government on 4 occasions, and he has written books and articles on nuclear proliferation. In 2004 he began a new career of writing books on crime and society. Those books are Washed in the Blood, Summer of 66, and now the three books in the Covey Jencks series. All firmly prove that he is still a Texan at heart.


Rating :★★★★★

Disclaimer: This audiobook review is solely my opinion. I partnered with Lone Star Literary Life for this review.  The comments in this review do not reflect the views of the author or the publisher. The copies used in those are finalized copies sent to me in exchange for my honest review.  #partner #LSBBT

This collection of the Covey Jencks series is memorable. The author does a fantastic job with the selection of the audiobook for this collection of titles. Narrator Stephen Lookadoo has a voice that fits perfectly for the audio versions of these three titles. I can’t imagine how hard it is for an author to search for a narrator that has the ability to due the story justice and capture the attention of the reader the entire time. I am a huge fan of audiobooks. I also tend to transfer between reading the book and listening to it simultaneously.
The three books in this audiobook collection were Covey Jencks (book 1), Covey and JayJay Get Educated (book 2), and The Chinese Murder of Edward Watts (book 3).
Covey Jencks :This story is set the stage and the development of the beloved main character Covey. We get to see the full back story and development of Covey and his relationship with JayJay. Something from his past drew him back to his hometown and he intends to see it to the end. This book is a well-developed, fast paced, engaging novel with many twists and turns. This is definitely a page turner and one you would not want to put down.
Covey and JayJay Get Educated : This book is filled with twists, turns , and interrogations. There were numerous occasions where I gasped out loud while reading and laughed at the interactions between the main characters and supporting characters. Throughout the whole novel I thought I had a pretty good idea of why the murders occurred until closer towards the end and I noticed there was a bigger issue at hand than the murders.
The Chinese Murder of Edward Watts : The story is filled with “ghosts” from the past coming back to “haunt” Covey and JayJay. This comical pair are a match made in partner heaven as they navigate an investigation with multiple loopholes. I did not expect this many twists and turns when I began diving into this novel and I was thoroughly surprised as the story continued to develop.
I highly recommend you check out this audiobook collection as you won’t be disappointed. You will enjoy this novel if you are looking for a thought-provoking adult mystery novel that focuses on social issues deep in the heart of Texas. This Texas-sized series will leaving wanting more from the author and wanting to finish the entire collection in one sitting.
Be sure to enter into the giveaway for a chance to win a copy of this title.

Each receives an audiobook edition of THE COVEY JENCKS MYSTERIES:
(US only; ends midnight, CDT, 10/31/22.)

blog tours services provided by

One thought on “Pop-Up: The Covey Jencks Audiobook

  1. This audiobook was great to listen to, and even though I’ve read all the books with my eyes (and with my ears with other narrators), the omnibus with Lookadoo is PERFECT. Thanks so much for a great review & reminder that these are just pure Texas-y fun.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s