Blog Tour: War Girls

War GirlsGenre: Fantasy

Shelf Location: Young Adult

Rating: ★★★★

Release Date : October 15, 2019

This review is solely my opinion. I was provided a copy of this book from Penguin Young Readers partner in exchange for my honest review.  The comments in this review do not reflect the views of the author or the publisher. The copy used in this review is an advanced reader copy.  #partner #penguinrandomhouse #penguinteen 


AUTHOR BIO 

Tochi Onyebuchi is a writer based in Connecticut. He holds a BA from Yale, an MFA in screenwriting from Tisch, and a JD from Columbia Law School. Tochi is the author of Beasts Made of Night and Crown of Thunder.


BOOK DESCRIPTION

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria.

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.

In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life.

Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together.

And they’re willing to fight an entire war to get there.

Acclaimed author, Tochi Onyebuchi, has written an immersive, action-packed, deeply personal novel perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Marie Lu, and Paolo Bacigalupi.


FINAL THOUGHTS

This book is great for those interested in a post apocalyptic world set in Nigeria. The author does an amazing job telling this story. You can tell he spent time working to develop his characters and the emotions between them. I loved the aspect of having two female leads as the main characters in this novel and the bond the two sisters shared. It is as if you feel their emotion seeping through the pages as you read it. The moment the two sisters were torn apart from each other after a raid of their camp truly showcased the impact the Nigerian Civil War had on the two. The beginning starts off a bit slow but it picks up toward the center with action, turmoil, and battle. The storyline continues to develop and has a little bit of a lull towards the end. Overall, it is still an enjoyable read. The author spends time creating the image of a post apocalyptic technology based world filled with humans with electronic limbs and a devastated climate.

If you’re interested in a fantasy novel based on the same concepts of Black Panther, then this is your next read. See below for purchasing links and don’t forget to share your thoughts online.


PURCHASING LINKS

CLICK HERE TO PREORDER YOUR COPY NOW!

THIS BOOK RELEASES ON TUESDAY, OCTOBER 15


Happy Reading! Comment below any book recommendations or your thoughts on this book! You can reach by clicking the Contact link at the top of the page or email me at librarielbookreviews@gmail.com.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s